icon caret-left icon caret-right instagram pinterest linkedin facebook twitter goodreads question-circle facebook circle twitter circle linkedin circle instagram circle goodreads circle pinterest circle

Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award-Honor Book

The Lee Bennett Hopkins Award, established in 1993, is presented annually to an American poet or anthologist for the most outstanding new book of children's poetry published in the previous calendar year. Since its inception in 1993, the winning poet or anthologist has received a handsome plaque and a $500 honorarium made possible by Mr. Hopkins.

Selected by a panel of nationally recognized teachers, librarians, and scholars, the Lee Bennett Hopkins Award for Children's Poetry is the first award of its kind in the United States. Steven Herb, Education librarian is the administrator of the annual award.

Honor Book Awarded in 2003 to Jaime Adoff for:
The Song Shoots Out Of My Mouth:
A Celebration of Music.